History & Archives


COPIS has had and continues to have a number of ad hoc or continuing committees, whose members have often make notable contributions. Records are not sufficient at this moment to permit an accurate and complete listing, but examples include:

  • Membership Developed criteria for membership. Served (since 1976) as a review and recommending panel. First chairperson was Ben Harris; Jerry Firth has chaired for a number of years.
  • ASCD Penetration Committee (Bob Alfonso chair, circa 1978) Pursued opportunities for supervision in ASCD programs and agenda.
  • ASCD Publications Committee(1978-1979)
  • Nominating Committee Appointed annually for one-year assignment.


Arthur Blumberg and Edward Pajak, founding members of COPIS, made profound contributions to the study and practice of instructional supervision. In their memory, the Blumberg-Pajak Scholarship fund supports awards and travel for doctoral students and recent graduates to attend and be recognized at COPIS events.

Read More