Karen Wetherill, President; Jeffrey Glanz, Secretary/Treasurer; Susan Sullivan, Marcia Knoll, Duncan Waite, Zach Kelehear, Bernard Badiali, Jim Nolan, Diane Calhoun, Lee Goldsberry, Jose Ramos, Edward Pajak, Steve Gordon, Don M. Beach, Diane Yendol-Hoppey

Call to Order:

9:30 am by Karen Wetherill

Approval of Minutes from Fall 2005 COPIS Meeting:

Duncan Waite moved to approve, motion seconded by Susan Sullivan

Secretary/Treasurer Report:

Report provided by Jeffrey Glanz

Membership Report:

Detailed expenses report discussed for 2003, 2004 and 2005. Diane Yendol-Hoppey will forward Susan Sullivan the 2006 report. Jeffrey Glanz, as the new president, will send a letter to the membership requesting dues and information about the 2007 annual meeting in New York City. There will be no COPIS meeting at the next ASCD conference. Don Beach will serve as the contact person in order to submit a proposal to ASCD for the 2008 ASCD conference.

Susan Sullivan led a discussion on new member applications. Eight (8) new members were unanimously approved:

Kenneth A. Anderson, nominated by Karen Wetherill

Jennifer Goldstein, nominated by Susan Sullivan

Claudia Balach, nominated by Diane Yendol-Hoppey

Diane S. Calhoun, nominated by Karen Wetherill

Nancy Fichtman Dana, nominated by Diane Yendol-Hoppey

Belinda Gimbert, nominated by Diane Yendol-Hoppey

Suzanne McCotter, nominated by Marcia Knoll

Maria Palandra, nominated by Marcia Knoll

The president and secretary will send a letter to inform the new members.

The president will enforce the attendance requirement as stated in the COPIS Constitution.

Site Committee Report:

Jeffrey Glanz reported the following three (3) sites:

2007 – New York City (Flyer attached) – Jeffrey Glanz, Susan Sullivan and Marcia Knoll

2008 – Texas, Tarleton (SW of Fort Worth) – Don Beach

2009 – Penn State – Jim Nolan

Jeffrey Glanz, as the new president, would like a volunteer to serve as Site Committee Chair in order to seek additional sites for future COPIS conferences.

Nominations Committee:

Jeffrey Glanz will serve as president

Susan Sullivan will serve as Secretary/Treasurer

Jeffrey Glanz, as the new president, would like a volunteer to serve as Nominations Committee Chair for the forthcoming year. Susan Sullivan will serve s COPIS president in 2008, but a Secretary/Treasurer must be nominated.

Website Update:

Zach Kelehear will review current arrangement for maintaining the web page. Diane Yendol-Hoppey offered to maintain the page should that be necessary.

New Business:

Steve Gordon suggested a SIG and COPIS breakfast gathering in Chicago at AERA. Karen Wetherill will send an email to the membership to see who will attend AERA in 2007.

Edward Pajak suggested that monies should be allotted to planners of upcoming conferences in order to help facilitate planning expenditures. After Diane Yendol-Hoppey submits the 2006 report, Susan Sullivan will determine the feasibility of such a proposal.

Jeffrey Glanz solicited interest in submitting a book proposal for his new School Leadership Series with Christopher-Gordon Publishers. Interested parties should contact Jeffrey.

Don Beach serving as editor for “School Leadership Review in Texas.” Manuscripts welcome. Interested parties should contact Don.

Duncan Waite, editor of the International Journal of Leadership in Education solicits papers written by graduate students for a $500 award. Interested parties should contact Duncan.

Bernard Badiali serves as editor of Catalyst for Change. Check online at Interested parties should contact Bernard.

Business meeting concluded and adjourned at 11:00 am.

Respectfully submitted – Jeffrey Glanz, Secretary/Treasurer


Arthur Blumberg and Edward Pajak, founding members of COPIS, made profound contributions to the study and practice of instructional supervision. In their memory, the Blumberg-Pajak Scholarship fund supports awards and travel for doctoral students and recent graduates to attend and be recognized at COPIS events.

Read More